Environmental Stewardship Subcommittee

The Environmental Stewardship Subcommittee (ESS), a subcommittee of the University Committee on Sustainability, promotes and enables environmental stewardship via student, staff, and faculty engagement and direct action on Grounds. There are currently 13 working groups and five task forces within the subcommittee.


Donald Sundgren, Associate Vice President and Chief Facilities Officer

Andrea Trimble, Sustainability Director

Working Groups

Materials Working Group

Clean Water Working Group

Green Athletics Working Group

Green Dining Working Group

Open Space

Transportation Working Group

Energy Working Group

Green Labs Working Group

Procurement Working Group

Sustainable IT Working Group

Nitrogen Working Group

Health System Sustainability Committee

Task Forces

Sustainable Food Strategy Task Force

Get Involved

ESS Membership List

ESS is open to all students, faculty, and staff to join at any time and meets monthly. To find out more information and get engaged, email sustainablity@virginia.edu