Environmental Stewardship Subcommittee

The Environmental Stewardship Subcommittee (ESS), a subcommittee of the University Committee on Sustainability, promotes and enables environmental stewardship via student, staff, and faculty engagement and direct action on Grounds. There are currently 13 working groups and five task forces within the subcommittee.

Subcommittee Co-Chairs

  • Donald Sundgren, Associate Vice President and Chief Facilities Officer
  • Andrea Trimble, Sustainability Director

Get involved – working groups and task forces are open to everyone! Email sustainability@virginia.edu for more information.


  • Engage a wide range of students, staff, and faculty in sustainability discussions that advance sustainability, both within the subcommittee and across Grounds.
  • Enable students, staff, and faculty to take action by implementing stewardship projects on grounds.
  • Advance university-wide stewardship goals and strategies.


  • Implement stewardship projects within each of the working group categories.
  • Demonstrate measurable progress in each area of stewardship represented by the working groups.
  • Convene stakeholders to contribute expertise and energy to document and advance university-wide stewardship visions, goals and strategies, in support of a larger U.Va. Sustainability Plan.

Working Groups

  • Materials
    Chairs: Jason Snow, Victoria Ngo, and Kelly Tran
  • Clean Water
    Chairs: Kathy Grove, Dawson Garrod, Clay Kulesza, and Jacob Weitzman
  • Green Athletics
    Co-Chairs: Alli Slater and Anthony Bouselli
  • Green Dining
    Co-Chair: Brooke Kinsey
  • Open Space
    Chair: Matthew Bartley
  • Transportation
    Co-Chairs: Becca White and Sarah Littlefied
  • Energy& Light Pollution
    Chairs: Doug Livingston, Martin Volaric, and Brad Houska
  • Green Labs
    Co-Chairs: Christine Alencar and Thomas Moutinho
  • Procurement
    Co-Chairs: Amy Muldoon and Lela Garner
  • Green IT
    Co-Chairs: Chris Smeds and Julia Conte
  • Nitrogen
    Co-Chairs: Jim Galloway, Libby Milo, and Hannah Piester
  • Health System Sustainability Committee
    Chair: Reba Camp

Task Forces

  • Sustainable Food Strategy
    Chair: Tanya Denckla Cobb, Institute for Environmental Negotiation


Work Plan

Annual Reports

H2O 2 GO